Friday FO/NO

How can it be the end of March? I guess I lost 2 weeks during the Dog Sitting Debacle of 2019. But my calendar definitely says it’s March 29th and that means the end is in sight. But wait, smell that? No? That’s because Zerorez came to my house yesterday and cleaned the bonus room and our bedroom. They did an odor elimination treatment in the bonus room. Yippee!

The Friday FO is Kindling Season. I was able to dedicate a lot of time to this since I’ve finished up most of the March list. Well, except for Maenporth and Afghan Squares, but Afghan Square #18 was cast on Thursday!

I used Universal Uptown Worsted for this sweater, even through the pattern called for Aran. I’m trying to hit a 3T, so went with 4T numbers as my gauge wasn’t to pattern. Neck down construction makes for a quick knit….unless you decide you don’t like the increases so you rip back to the collar…….3 times! This is the mess you end up with!

 

Once I got the increases worked out and set the chevron pattern on the back, I cruised. Before long I was ready to separate for the body.


I just love that stand up collar!
The chevron looks wonky, but it’s not

With help from an odd series, Johnathon Strange and Mr Norrell, I was done with the body before I knew it. Time for sleeves, too bad there’s always 2 of them!

Why are my cardigan fronts are always longer in the front. Am I knitting them too loosely at the edges? This pattern has you slip the 1st stitch, but I tried to keep the yarn taut when working the next stitch. Must ponder that issue.


For the finish I used toggle buttons with crocheted loops for closure.

I just love this Chevron texture!

Now to get baby sister’s sweater cast on and knit. I am mashing up Kindling Season and Gramps to get a 12 month size! I will use Gramps’ numbers with the structure of Kindling. I love Gramps’ short rows at the back to lower that front collar. Wish I had done that with the 1st Kindling.

Linking with:
Whoop Whoop
TGIFF
From Bolt to Beauty
Friday Foto
Sew She Can
UFO Busting

30 thoughts on “Friday FO/NO

  1. Such a pretty little sweater. It has to feel good to get that one off the hooks with all the false starts and associated unraveling.

    1. I don’t know which is worse, ripping knitting, which takes so long to knit but unravels so quickly, or sewing which is so quick to sew but takes effort to rip!! LOL > >

  2. Hi Chris! That chevron pattern just looks so fabulous. Who is cute little sweater for? I hope you get a picture of the sweetheart wearing it. ~smile~ Roseanne

    1. Thanks my friend! I made one for me, it’s available in adult size. But it has waist shaping that I should have left out. Makes it bump out at hips. Yuck! > >

  3. After not having any pets for a few months now and having the windows open a bit last week, I came home the other day and noticed that our house doesn’t smell like “home” anymore. There’s no more dog smell – which is a good thing, but a weird thing. Now, if I could just get my husband to finish painting the interior so we don’t have paint smell….
    That little sweater is so adorable! I just love the color.

    1. That dog smell is more noticeable to me in this home compared to any other. Not sure why. So we keep washing beds and bedding and sometimes remember to wash the dogs too! Thanks, the sweater was a good knit. > >

  4. Wow! I am a knitter, but I’ve never done anything as complex as this. It looks beautiful though, and I hope the recipient loves it and wears it a lot. Those toggles always make knitting look special. Welcome to the Peacock Party and thank you for linking up.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.