Friday FO/NO

A small finish again this week, but of the fabric kind. When I returned to quilting in July 2017, I made some Pineapple Blocks. But didn’t know what to do with them. I added a thin sashing between the four blocks and around them. Then I added Flying Geese borders with open space between. At one point I imagined being good enough at FMQ to do feathers in the blank space. Oh ye of too much faith! LOL

When 2019 started I identified 12 items I wanted to finish. Quilting this top made the list. In fact, 7 of the items need quilting! Do you think I have a top problem? Yes, too many tops produced compared to the quilting done. I planned to quilt this in April, and promptly failed. Doh! Then May rolled around much too quickly and I was forced to carry it over. My goals for this week did not include getting to this piece. So of course, that’s what I decided to work on. Dude? I have 3 bags I need to finish sewing for the Guild Challenge on Monday!!!! Ack! But I must say, I am so glad I finished Pineapple Punch!!


The lone block on the back was my test of the PP pattern,
I almost got it perfectly centered!!!!

I just started stitching in the ditch on the Pineapples and it ended up spiraling in and then out. Perfect! For the border I decided to duplicate the Flying Geese, because I am not even trying feathers, at all, EVER! OK, not right now. I also stitched around the FG blocks to help them stand out. I am so pleased with the final project!


The little desk this is sitting on is almost completely covered by the unwashed version
A wash and dry crinkled it up to the max and now you can see the desk edge..


I think I love the back just as much as the front!!!!

So, how’s your Friday going?

Linking with:
Whoop Whoop
TGIFF
From Bolt to Beauty
Friday Foto
Peacock Party
Busy Hands
UFO Busting

36 thoughts on “Friday FO/NO

  1. The FG Quilting is perfect! Everyone does feathers, so you are free to be unique and do something else! Very cute finish!

  2. I do love a good pineapple block! The addition of the flying geese border is so good! I’m sure you are thrilled to have this one finished. Quilting quilts isn’t my favorite part and have been known to have a stack before I actually start!

    1. Thank you I am well pleased with it. Just wish that back was a bit more centered! LOL. You are the QUEEN of quilting. You always find the best course to take. I flounder!!! > >

  3. Hi Chris! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this. Every.single.thing.about.it.I.love. Your stitching is just the best choice; the back almost looks as good as the front. Those pretty colors on the front push it over the top for me or else you could hang it either way. As yeah, you’ll do feathers. I have NO doubt about it. Maybe not today but by the end of 2019 feathers will be in your repertoire. Happy Mother’s Day and Happy Friday!! ~smile~ Roseanne

  4. That looks like the perfect finish for those blocks! I like your quilting – especially the ghost flying geese in the border – they make a really neat effect!

  5. Well done! I had to chuckle at “ye of too much faith” though. I expect you will FMQ feathers one day if you decide you want to. I really like the back too, but the front is eye catching so I hope it gets equal time on your desk.

    1. LOL! It’s gonna take a lot of faith for me and feathers!! It’s getting lots of fave time as I pass that little desk to and from my sewing room!

      >

  6. I think you did a great job quilting. Good call on the flying geese in the borders. Thanks for linking up with Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.