2023 SAHRR-Round 3

Welcome to Week 3 of the 2023 SAHRR! So glad you are joining us for this QAL My prompt for Round 3 is Hourglass! I love the symmetry of Hourglass, and also the quick way to make them. As you have likely caught on, my 2023 SAHRR is being made with individual blocks, so instead of rounds I will end up with a sampler style quilt. I am making all my blocks 9″ Finished in size.

To make my Hourglass I use the HST method. You take 1 square each of your background and print color and draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of the background. Then sew either side of the marking before cutting along the diagonal line. You end up with 2 HST units. You then draw another diagonal line from corner to corner on 1 HST, making sure your line intersects the seam on the HST. Sew on both sides of this seam and cut along the line when done. This results in two Hourglass blocks.

My finished Hour Glass block consists of 4 units, and since I wanted each HG unit to be a different color I cut 4 backgrounds and 1 each of 4 fabrics. The units were sewn together with neighbors turned 45° to alternate the layout. The 4 extras I had from construction were sewn end to end and will be placed on the backing for a little kick!

Join the link up below for this week’s round. And check out all the sponsors who have donated prizes for the 2023 SAHRR at Gail’s site.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

For those who are math challenged check out this VERY LONG post about my method for making your borders fit as you are going around. Or, just buy an Electric Quilt 8 program and let it do the work for you! Well, almost all the work.

The remaining schedule:

Here is what the 3rd Round would look like if I was doing my original design.

34 thoughts on “2023 SAHRR-Round 3

  1. Love your choice of the hourglass, which I had anticipated in the center of my star. I might unintentionally have started a design feature, the star is center and repeated in first border, the hourglass (tiny though it is) is in the first border and I believe the new ones will be in the new border. FUN! I do use EQ to do all my figuring, well most, as you say.

  2. Hi Chris! I find it interesting that EQ8 led me to a different hourglass block. Not that it matters. I love these fabrics, and your end result of a sampler will be gorgeous. Thanks for hosting this week’s linky party. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. Hi Chris, your blocks are looking great! I had a weird experience with the hourglass blocks but they turned out ok in the end 🙂 Thanks for the prompt!

  4. Looking great. I just started this week so am not caught up. So far, I have my centre block and the first prompt done. I will choose my 2nd border fabric later today.

    1. I just caught up, but the linky party is over. I thought I would have until the end of today at least. Drat. I am pleased with my progress and wanted to join.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.