Friday FO/NO

So, why do I read blogs? Because you know I am going to end up in trouble with my bank account!!! On Thursday I got caught down the rabbit hole due to Roseanne and Julie. So now I have 5.5 yards of fabric coming and a new pouch pattern to play with! Wait, there’s nothing bad about this, this is a happy occurrence. LOL! I got this lovely olive, a Jo Morton piece, and this wide back from Kim Diehl at PF. And I love the whimsical patterns from Hilltop Custom Designs! So I guess this was a win win day for reading blogs?

I hope to be sewing along with The Crafty Quilter starting this weekend with her Disappearing 9 Patch project. I wasn’t sure what color scheme I was going with until I saw her prep. I am decided. Pulled out the patriotic fabric today to get ready for the start. I used some of the reds for the Heart table runner I made back in Jan/Feb.

In other Patriotic sewing I started the small challenge for a FB group. Instead of one 10.5″ block I am making 4 and will arrange them similar to one of my favorite minis, Anthem, without the stripped sashing. When I started this project I had planned on using a different background around the center star, but didn’t have enough for 4 blocks. I am OK with the paisley I subbed in, but I still think I will make a pillow front with just the red stars, the dark blue, and the cream. This is my Squirrely DrEaMi this month!


Fussy cut centers to show off the floral motifs.

Dinner Thursday night was awesome! My first attempt at Philly Cheesesteaks! I picked up some shaved beef and veggies at the grocery. I got all that going in the sauté pan and then had the great idea to steam my hoagie rolls over the splatter guard. Perfect!!! Then I loaded the buns with the meat/veggies and added provolone cheese, then broiled them to a cheesy gooey mess! Yum yum!

So, how’s your Friday going?

Linking with:
Whoop Whoop
TGIFF
From Bolt to Beauty
Friday Foto
Peacock Party
Busy Hands
UFO Busting

15 thoughts on “Friday FO/NO

  1. LOL! I totally get in trouble too when reading other people’s blogs. *high five* Your sandwiches look awesome! And what a great idea for steaming the buns. Love it!!! Too bad I’m off both most meat and all bread. eHUGS!

    1. Oh you poor thing! I will “pray” for your soul. LOL! I can’t even imagine not having my bread or meat. Or my veggies, or fruit, or dairy, OK, any food!! Thanks > >

  2. Hi Chris! I’m sorry I led you down the rabbit hole, but I love that olive fabric you picked up at HALF price! How cool is that?! I am very tempted to join in on that disappearing nine-patch QAL. I have always wanted to make that pattern . . . but have so many quilt tops that just need some attention. It looks like it starts on Saturday – oooh, that’s tomorrow! ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. That is some good company leading you astray! I am now hungry for a cheesesteak too! I am sewing along with Julie – as who wouldn’t – it is so easy – especially with the charm packs I have lying around! Thanks for linking up and nice to make your acquaintance!

  4. I think the fussy cut centers are so perfect for this, and I like the stars. The Anthem is a nice design, but I like this star better.

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.