Friday FO TGIFF

Today I am hosting the TGIFF link party. Thank you Slice of Pi for the invite to host!

When she asked if I was interested and might have a FO to share, my brain had to process what might be available to post. My first thought was Sweet Liberty, a Disappearing 9 Patch QAL with The Crafty Quilter. Sure, it was just a top, which I had no idea how I was going to quilt, nor did I have backing or batting on hand. But who worries about those things? So I said yes. And then I was left to the reality of my bad decisions.

I picked up batting and backing fabric, but my back was short, so out came the scraps, again! Now, my blog readers can tell you how OCD I am, they could tell you my scrap solution caused some angst. But I ignored the fact my creams were stacking  and continued on my way. It’s just a back on a picnic quilt, get over it Chris.

Sunday morning I attempted to spray baste in my garage on a table. Fail, the back kept wrinkling. So inside to a cooler clime and hardwood floor with Painter’s Tape. Better, but man it’s hard working around furniture! Tip: next time move the 54″x54″ ottoman out of the way.

 


This is the ottoman in question

Then off to the dining room table to get the quilting started. But not even halfway done, I ran out of thread!! Ugh! Time for a break.

 
I duplicated the quilting I did on the Project Bag

Once I got the interior quilting done it was time to address the border. And I put it off until I knew I had to get it done. The how was eluding me. I almost opted for piano keys, but I just couldn’t pull the trigger. And then it hit me, duplicate the lines of the block out into the border.

And now for the full reveal. I picked up this rickety part of a ladder while visiting BioGirl. I love it, but Hubster wants to freshen it up before he allows it in the house.


All photos are pre-wash

 
Finished size 68″x80″
Dog added for size

From start to finish this project just took over and demanded to be done. How I wish I had finished it last week for Independence Day fireworks watching, but that’s OK, there’s always next year!

Now it’s time for you to share what finishes have happened in your sewing room this week.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=ef8b06cc10bc6002458d

Linking with:
Whoop Whoop
TGIFF
From Bolt to Beauty
Friday Foto
Peacock Party
Busy Hands
UFO Busting

40 thoughts on “Friday FO TGIFF

  1. This is a fantastic finish, Chris!! I love that you volunteered for TGIFF before even having a finish! And what a great excuse to get this one finished! Thank you for hosting this week!

    1. Thanks! It was just what I needed to get this one done. Now I need to “create” more bad decisions to maybe get other projects to a finished state. LOL! > >

  2. It turned out beautifully. I’m glad to read that I am not the only one who has projects that are plagued with one problem after the other. We both overcame and conquered tho. Have a great weekend.

    1. Thank you! The ottoman looks like a huge square! Sorry, couldn’t help. But it really is a huge square upholstered cushion. I will try to get find a photo of it. > >

  3. Hi Chris! You crack me up. Who looks at the back?? Just every single person I’ve ever given a quilt to – they usually like the back better. Grrr. But they would NEVER notice your stacked cream pieces either! And a 54″ square ottoman – that’s huge and comfy I’ll bet. I just love how this turned out and the fabric choices are fab. Of course, adding the dog for a glamour shot makes it extra special. I think you’ll have to pick a day for a nice picnic to test it out and make sure it’s just right. Your pictures with the ladder look fab! Great job all around. ~smile~ Roseanne

    1. Thank you. It was an absolute joy to make, well, except for those moments when half the quilt was rolled up under my machine throat! Those were times I was questioning my sanity. LOL > >

  4. But you finished it!! You worked around and you worked out the problems that came your way. The payoff is a beautiful finished quilt that you can be proud of!

  5. That ladder is soooo cool. I love finding stuff like that! Nothing like a deadline to cause nine million hiccups to occur. The quilt is so sweet – very well done and I bet you will love using it. I love the colors you used. That backing is perfect. 🙂

  6. Your quilt turned out great! Love the quilt and love your photos 🙂 Having one of your helpers added for scale (and to add glamour) definitely added to the effect – so cute!

  7. I had to laugh at the doggy on your quilt! I thought Lena (my kitty) was bold to get right on a new blanket–that dog is way too comfortable with claiming that quilt!

  8. That is a beautiful finish! I too tend to jump in and then have to figure out the how afterwards. The photo shoot on the ladder and with the dog are precious!

    1. Thanks. My brain doesn’t always keep up with my mouth sometimes, so I get myself in a lot of last minute situations. LOL! Thanks, the pups are always game for photo shoots, especially when I don’t want them in the picture. > >

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.