Friday FOllieS 1 Potato 2 Potato

My quilt guild is involved in lots of charity projects,  Little Dresses for Africa, Pillowcases for Daymar, baby quilts, and food donations. But our biggest effort is for a local hospital on Christmas Day. We make lap/throw quilts all year and then distribute them to every person in that hospital. What a wonderful opportunity to brighten someone’s day. Each month we meet at one of their campus buildings to work on our quilts, and laugh and have fun. It is such a wonderful ministry and the hospital is so gracious to allow us the use of their facilities.

This year I finally got involved in the ministry. This quilt will be my 5th one. I love the time we spend sewing and laughing, I just wish I could be there on Christmas Day to help in handing them out.

This quilt uses more of the Potato fabric that I found in the  guild stash, I am having fun incorporating it into the quilts. The pattern is Disappearing 9 Patch, such a versatile pattern!


The 9 patch blocks ready to be split through the middle, so easy to do


Construction is fairly quick with this quilt, and the layout possibilities are endless

Once I had the top and back pieced it was just a matter of time before I found the opportunity to sandwich it and get quilting. I decided to use 3 different colors of thread for the quilting, just to change it up. For the basting I wanted to try the 2×4 method. Hubster picked up some boards and set up my 8 foot table in the garage. Even though it was freezing I persevered and got the layers sandwiched.


Here is the method I used, scroll down, her format is wonky

I set up my machine on the dining room table to have enough room to support the quilt and just started straight line quilting. I quilted on Tuesday and Wednesday and bound the quilt on Thursday using this method.


Dappled sunlight on a newly quilted project, so dreamy!

and, indirect sunlight gives an even light source to the unwashed quilt, add in a rustic ladder for a nice backdrop once it’s been washed and dried.


Now it’s time for you to join the party!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

Linking with:
Scrap Happy
Whoop Whoop
From Bolt to Beauty
Finished of Not
Peacock Party

29 thoughts on “Friday FOllieS 1 Potato 2 Potato

  1. That is such a lovely quilt! Someone will be very happy with it. I love that your guild is doing so much charity crafting. It’s a great way to do good while doing what you love.

  2. Pingback: Crossroads
  3. Hi Chris! This turned out just great. This pattern seems better suited for the potato fabric – I guess cutting it into smaller pieces makes it harder to see just what the shapes are. This sounds like a fun ministry to get into. ~smile~ Roseanne

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.