Monday Design Wall

No design on the wall floor because I have a FO!!! I decided to play along with Hands 2 Help this year and make a charity quilt. I had saved some orphan blocks I abandoned in the 1990’s and it was time to put them to good use. I did not want to move them a 3rd time! The block goes by a few names I think, Chick and Hen or Grandmother’s Choice, which is what I call it. I had enough to make two tops by just adding a few more blocks. I made a larger quilt for our local guild charity, here is the post about it. That left the smaller quilt to make. For some reason I thought I made this big enough for Quilty Hugs, but I missed it by 6″!!! Happily it will be perfect for Jack’s Basket.


From a flimsy….


to a blanket of love!


Pre-wash


Post-wash

As always, I had no clue how to quilt this. I thought about diagonal lines from the center out in 4 quadrants, however I just started sewing around the block units in the ditch. I ended up outlining all but the corner squares. I just couldn’t figure out a path without a bunch of over stitching. For the border I was thinking about creating a plaid effect, but it wasn’t really necessary since it’s already a PLAID! LOL. I just eyeballed a diamond shape by going point to point on the plaid. Worked fine until the corners, each one has it’s own charm. LOL! But not a diamond in even 1 of them. Oh well, It’s the comfort, not perfection we are going for. To make it durable I machine stitched the binding down. I am not sold on that method, but it’s more secure than hand tacking.  I worked on this all Saturday in between bouts with this visitor!


Not 100% potty trained yet so lots of making sure she wasn’t watering the floors!

And now I am on to other things and new beginnings! But more about that tomorrow.

Linking with:
Design Wall
Moving it Forward
Monday Making
Modern Patch Monday

30 thoughts on “Monday Design Wall

  1. I love that block and your quilt of course. Deciding on quilting is always a struggle for me but you pulled it off. Looks great.

      1. That’s really kind of you to say but coming up with quilting ideas is my biggest struggle. Recently I’ve come up with a new approach, just do it. Do what comes to mind at the moment, if I have a lightbulb moment while loading it-just do it and the rest will follow. The more time I spend trying to decide what to do the more flustered I get. I have a few designs I’d like to make and enter the quilts in shows but I can’t until my quilting ideas improve. So for now, I’ll just do it.

      2. Isn’t it funny how we always critic ourselves more than others? And I understand what you mean about the struggle, I also find it comes easier if I just start something, even if I decide later I should have done it differently. Hopefully I sock that idea away for the next time.

        >

  2. That looks like a great way to use up some orphan blocks! It turned out beautifully! I always have a hard time deciding how to quilt my projects, too – they always end up with whatever is easiest.

  3. Hi Chris! It looks like you had a fabulous visitor to keep you company. This quilt is just oozing love – it’s such a nice finish. I adore all the post-wash squishiness. ~smile~ Roseanne

  4. A great finish to that top I liked. The quilting sounds just right, and the diamonds were a good choice for the borders.

  5. It’s a wonderful quilt, and I thank you for introducing me to a new block! Thanks for being part of H2H this year!

Cat got your tongue?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.